STARSHIP feat. Mickey Thomas

STARSHIP is an American rock band. Initially a continuation of Jefferson Starship, it underwent a change in musical direction, the subsequent loss of personnel, and a lawsuit settlement that led to a name change. The band briefly performed as ‘Starship Jefferson’ while legal proceedings occurred, before settling on the shortened name STARSHIP.

Mickey Thomas joined ‘Jefferson Starship’ in 1979. His voice had become legendary after recording “Fooled Around and Fell in Love” with 'The Elvin Bishop Band' and he was planning to pursue a solo career. Jefferson Starship quickly proved to be the right decision as they recorded their first hit “Jane” almost immediately after getting together.

In 1985, STARSHIP released the album that would come to define the eighties “Knee Deep In The Hoopla”, featuring two worldwide hits – “We Built this City” and “Sara”.

STARSHIP followed-up their initial success with another hit single – “Nothing’s Gonna Stop Us Now” featured on the soundtrack for “Mannequin”. As they continued to reach the top of the charts, MTV infiltrated pop culture and the band released videos for all of their hits that are still popular today. Starship music is featured in the soundtracks for “Rock of Ages,” “Guardians of the Galaxy,” “Skeleton Twins,” and most recently on the popular TV series “Glee”.

In early 1992, Mickey Thomas revived STARSHIP as ‘Mickey Thomas' Starship’ before changing the name to STARSHIP featuring Mickey Thomas, which has toured steadily ever since. Although Mickey Thomas has been supplemented by a mostly new cast of performers, bassist Brett Bloomfield did return to the fold for several years. Melisa Kary and Christina Marie Saxton, who had both performed with the group as backing singers on tour in 1989 through 1990, also had stints as full band members in STARSHIP featuring Mickey Thomas. Darrell Verdusco, formerly of KBC Band, has served as drummer since 1995. Keyboard player Phil Bennett also joined in 1995. Jeff Adams came aboard on bass in 2000. Female vocalist Stephanie Calvert joined the band in 2006.


Former STARSHIP trumpet player Max Haskett, who performed with the band from their reformation in 1992 until the following year, died in 1999 as a result of pancreatic cancer - R.I.P. !

Lead guitarist Erik Torjesen, who performed with the band between 1996 and 2000, died of cancer, aged 34, in 2001 - R.I.P. !

Torjesen's replacement, Mark Abrahamian, died from a heart attack, aged 46, following a concert on September 2, 2012 - R.I.P. !. - Abrahamian was replaced as guitarist by John Roth.


Nevertheless, STARSHIP feat. Mickey Thomas is still tour, delighting audiences around the world.


The Videos:

"We Built This City" (1985)

"Sara" (1985)

"Tomorrow Doesn't Matter Tonight" (1986)

"Nothing's Gonna Stop Us Now" (1987)

"It's Not Over ('Til It's Over)" (1987)

"Beat Patrol" (1987)

"Wild Again" (1988)

"It's Not Enough" (1989)

"I Didn't Mean to Stay All Night" (1989)


For any information on date availability and serious inquiries please send Email !

DruckversionDruckversion | Sitemap
Europolis Entertainment e.U. (2019-2021)